Built in the mediaeval century by the Chandela Dynasty

, the UNESCO site of ‘Khajuraho Group of Monuments’ is famous for its Nagara-Style architecture and

graceful sculptures of nayikas (Hindu Mythological female protagonists) and deities.

The splendour of the intricate statues is one of the reasons that makes it a popular site to visit among tourists.

Built between 950-1050 AD the Chandela Dynasty,

these temples represent various forms of meditation, spiritual teachings and relationships through stimulating art.

The temples are famous for their craftsmanship that consist of splendid demonstrations of fine sculptures and exceptional architectural skill,

making them one of the most stunning UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India.HISTORY


Beautiful, detailed and expressive, the sculptures of the Khajuraho temples ( Mandir ) will leave you in awe and wonder. These temples are divided into three groups: Eastern, Western and Southern.HISTORY 


The Western group is very close to the archaeological museum and it includes the temples of Lakshmana, Matangeshwara, Varaha,

Kandariya Mahadev, Chitragupta,

Parvati, Vishwanatha and Nandi. This group of temples has approximately 870 marvellous sculptures engraved on the interior and exterior walls.

Just after entering the Western group, the plaque on the right gives a brief introduction to the history of the Khajuraho.

The main attraction of this place is a Shivling and the beautiful floral carving in the Sanctum of the temple. The three outer sections of the walls depict the sculptures of gods, goddesses and Hindu mythological creatures.HISTORY

Kandariya Mahadeva Temple: Built between 1025 to 1050, the temple rises in successive towers like a range of hills. The lintel of the temple has a four- armed Shiva lined Lord Brahma, the creator and Lord Vishnu, the preserver. 

Jagdambi Temple: Jagdambi is another name for Goddess Parvati, wife of Lord Shiva. On a platform inside the sanctum of the temple, a sculpture of Lord Vishnu is beautifully carv. There are also a few sculptures of sura-sundaris (celestial beauty) which are particularly appealing.

Chitragupta Temple: This temple is dedica to Lord Surya, the Sun. There is also a sculpture of eleven-headed and eight-armed Lord Vishnu in the south of the temple. The sculptures of the divine couple deities Brahma-Brahmani, Shiva- Parvati, Bhairava-Bhairavi, and Lakshmi-Narayana have special artistic features.HISTORY

ASI Museum: This museum has some amazing sculptures and artefacts which are well display with their names and prospective age.

An 11th – 12th-century statue of Sambhava Nath is plac in the Jain gallery which is situat on the of the museum.

A sculpture of Varaha with six heads and a dancing Ganesh are the exquisite statues to see in the museum. There are many other temples in the Western Group, which have similar architectural significance.


Vamana Temple: Vamana Temple is dedicat to the fifth incarnation of Lord Vishnu and is 1050-75. This temple has few erotic carvings and a four-armed standing Lord Vishnu on its lintel.  

Javari Temple: Built between 1075 and 1100, Javari Temple stands on a high plinth and has a raised Shikhara.

Its delicately carve Makara Torana arch is a fine example of

the stone carving skills of the people of that era.

Parsvanatha Temple: This temple is one among the couple of old temples that were construct using honey-colou sandstone. This Jain temple was between 950-970 but also holds images of deities of the Vaishnava faith, Lord Vishnu.

Adinatha Temple, Santinatha Temple,

Ghantai Temple and  Brahma Temple are a few other temples in this group with significant architectural and historical features.

Leave a Comment